Clicks once then nothing. BUT then starts

beauski83

Cadet
Hello,

I have a 2002 Wellcraft Excalibur.

5.7 Gi Volvo Engine with aprox 110 hours.

Boat is new to me as of 106 hours.

New Battery.

Turn the key, clicks once....and that's it.
Turn it again, same deal. Let it sit for a minute...talked to the battery and engine. Turn key, click, then turn again and starts right up....runs beautifully.
Anchor off for a bit. Turn key, click. Turn again, starts up.
Little while later...back to the first scenario. Few tries, but it eventuall starts up no prob. As soon as it gets to the point where it tries to start, she fires right up.

I'm new to this and don't know much, so I'm hoping what I'm saying makes sense and is a fairy simple problem.

Any help is appreciated!

Adam

bustermin

Banned
Re: Clicks once then nothing. BUT then starts

i would check to see how much voltage you are getting @ the starter during cranking when it clicks, it sounds to me like a bad solenoid or starter, or a bad connection either at the ground or hot cable, also veify you are using marine grade battery cables as they will be tinned to prevent corrosion, which can cause you to lose valuble cranking amps.

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

Has your starter ever been submerged in water. Once is all it takes to damage it.

beauski83

Cadet

i don't know if the starter has ever been sumberged. not in the 3 weeks i've had it!

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

i don't know if the starter has ever been sumberged. not in the 3 weeks i've had it!
OK...didn't catch that in your original post. Need to check your connections at the battery, starter and ground at the block but it may be neccasary to pull the starter to see what's up with it. Could have been submerged before you owned it and that is why you are having a problem.

willieboy

Seaman