Did I burn up anything?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jestmaty

Recruit
Hi, noob here...

Have had my Bayliner 175 for 4 years now, only about 100 hours.

Long story short, loaded the boat on the trailer after a couple of hours on the lake. Accidentally left the engine running for maybe 2 minutes while I drove over to the clean up area. Don't really want to get into how foolish I was and my wife is involved, so I ain't saying nothing!

When I got home, I put her on the muffs and did my post lake routine, flush it out. Ran fine and no smoke, smell, no overheat.

Mercruiser 3.0 ltr with the Alpha 1 Gen 2 outdrive. 2005

What did I break? Time to do the impeller anyway? Someone said to check the flappers?

Any ideas? Still learning how to not kill myself while boating.....

m283mark

Cadet
Re: Did I burn up anything?

Would definetly replace the impeller. even if every thing checked ok:(

firemedicmonkey

Seaman Apprentice

I am still a very big Noobie to boats and to this site, but I have been doing a ton of research on all topics related to maintenance and repair. I just picked up a used boat with an unknown history for the last 3 yrs. So I am trying to sort that mess out...

From a service bulletin that was published by Mercruiser (I believe it is posted here in the adults only section of possibly somewhere else, not sure!)

Running you engine without water circulating in the outdrive pump for even as little as 20 sec can cause catastrophic damage to the impeller.

The water that it pumps is also the fluid that lubricates the rubber impeller as it rotates in a plastic housing. So no water=no lube = burning, melting, cracking, etc.

I am guessing that you have 1) gotten extremely lucky b/c the pump was already wet and was able to not due major damage b/c it had some lubrication 2) You have damaged the impeller and it is still working to some degree