Boat taking on water?

austingt

Recruit
**Before you read please know that I am new to all this so I may not have all the part descriptions correct**

I have a 1981 Glastron SX-190 with a 5.0 mercruiser engine and mercruiser outdrive.

I bought this boat less than a month ago and the guy that sold it to me said it had bad bellows which caused a minor leak and needed to be replaced. The bellows are indeed bad but I also noticed another leak while checking where the water was leaking in. I did this by filling the water reservoir (the area in the boat where the water collects before being bilged out) and looking for leaks. The main water leak is coming from the bottom of the gimbal housing (I could be wrong but it is what buts up against the hull and houses the outdrive). My question is...

How hard is this to repair? Is it just a bad seal? Can the average Joe with a mechanical mind do the job? How much would an average shop charge to do it?

Thanks in advance for all your input and expertise.

danond

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Boat taking on water?

It's possible, but rare, that the gimbal housing to transom seal is bad.

There's a good chance your transom is rotten and leaking because the gimbal housing can't make a good seal against your now "mobile" transom skin. It's possible that something else is leaking, too but you should rule out the transom before moving forward. It will save you time.

Do you have hairline stress cracks along the bottom of the gimbal housing (on the outside)? Did someone run a bead of caulking/silicone around the outside of the housing, where it contacts the transom skin?

Check my site (in the signature) for info on how to recognize a rotten transom.

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,.... Welcme Aboard,.... The water reservoir is known as the Bilge around here,...;)

I don't have any Good news for you,...
A leak at the bottom of the gimbel housing Usually means the transom wood is Rotten.....