Starting Problems

Jon_912

Cadet
I've got a 1984 Mercruiser 470, that has been set up for about 3 years by the previous owner. Ive hooked a new battery up to start it and the motor will turn and sometimes it will fire off, but it doesn't stay running very long unless i am giving it gas, I pulled the top off the carburetor and cleaned it up and got everything put back together and cranked it twice and the motor turned over and it started up and now whenever I try to crank it, the starter spins, but the motor doesn't turn.... Im new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

Attached is a pic of the carb. after I removed the top to inspect.

Attachments

• l_7b62f9e39967077dd39139fcda61f665.jpg
    l_7b62f9e39967077dd39139fcda61f665.jpg
    19.9 KB · Views: 0

ken_23434

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Starting Problems

Sitting for 3 years will result in you having a lot of bad gas. Those deposits you saw in the carb are also in every other passage of that carb and similar stuff through out the fuel system.

Besides just taking the cover off the carb and cleaning out that area, you need to do a full rebuild on the carb. Make sure all the little passages in there get cleaned out.

You should siphon out all the old gas. However, you will likely have lots of crud in the tank that the new ethanol enhanced gas will tend to loosen and dislodge. If you can remove the fuel tank to have it cleaned, that might be a good plan. Otherwise, make sure you have plenty of fuel filters on hand. I went through all that last fall.

If the starter is turning but the bendix is not extending and engaging the fly wheel to turn the motor, it sounds like it needs a rebuild also. There is also the chance of a chipped tooth on the flywheel, and the starter just doesn't have anything to engage to turn. I have seen that on cars before, but I think that is not very likely.