Water Leak into U-Joint Bellows, Bellows not Torn?

ken_23434

Petty Officer 1st Class
I have a project boat I have been working through the issues on. I had it out on the water about 5 times last fall, sorting out issues each time. This is my first boat, so I am still learning what "normal" is.

I took it out last weekend for the first time this year. I thought there was a strange noise coming from the transom area, but I could not pin point it. It seemed like the noise changed with trim position, but I thought that might have just been in my head. I know that means the u-joints are probably the suspect along with the gimbal bearing.

I checked the bellows externally as best I could, but did not see any evidence of tears etc. I pulled the outdrive off this evening, and sure enough there was some water in the bellows and the u-joints and drive shaft have some rust on them and there is a muddy/milky mess in the bellows.

I wiped out all the junk as best I could and looked / felt around inside the bellows trying to find the "obvious" tear. But, I cannot locate one. The bellows appears to be in very good condition. Not even any evidence of starting to dry out or crack.

I already have a transom service kit on order and have plans to do that whole thing along with new u-joints. My concern is, Is there another way water could have gotten in there?

I am guessing the bellows might not have a good seal at one end, and is leaking that way.

What else should I look for?

Thanks in advance.

boatguya1

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Water Leak into U-Joint Bellows, Bellows not Torn?

Did you leave the plug in and have the inside ofthe boat fill with water? There is a vent hole to the bellows that will allow water in from inside the boat.

Other poss is leak at the clamp/clamps or notsealed up well when outdrive installed.

What exactly you are working on would help.

James

ken_23434

Petty Officer 1st Class