How to properly strap down transom-pics

badbowtie

Chief Petty Officer
Please look at post 21 to see better pictures and still kicking ideas around and looking for more ideas before I tow this any farther this year.

When I bought this boat and trailer, the guy that I bought it from said he never used transom straps, he said that if you had to rely on straps, it was already too late. He used to tow it 250 miles one way like this. Since I have had the boat, I have always put 2 straps on it, even towing it 5 miles to the lake. I don't like the way that it is strapped, I know that it is not correct. Any ideas on a better and safer way to strap it down? I have towed this on the interstate at 70 to 75 mph and it doesn't sway. Thanks in advance.

DSC02295.sized.jpg

DSC02297.sized.jpg

Last edited:

75reinell

Seaman Apprentice
Re: How to properly strap down transom-pics

It seems like the trailer is to small for the boat. I am sure other wiser boaters will chime in as I am a newb still.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

Yup -- there a couple of things wrong. 1) the straps ideally should pull straight down but in this case there isn't much choice. 2) The straps being used are not very strong. The previous owner obviously relied on gravity to hold the boat on the trailer. Here is an example of what happens when a boat is not tied down properly.

Trailleroops.jpg

If the straps are pulling straight down or slightly backward, that prevents any forward motion of the boat in the event of a collision. In a sudden swerve, the boat can and will roll off the trailer. It is a matter of physics. Ever heard the theory that goes like this: "An object in motion tends to stay in motion".

mthieme

Captain

I agree. Stronger straps and more trailer.
On the rare occasions I take my boats down the road, I use a heavy 3" strap from side to side over the top near the stern. I need to invest in proper straps for the 'Ray, but the smaller boats there is no other option.