Recommendations on new cheap boat

zarillus

Petty Officer 1st Class
Newbie here and i'm looking for a boat under $1000 that needs minor repair and that can also pull a tube and do some fishing.Does anyone have recommendations on what boats to get hp rating and hull type.Inboard/Outboard?

I keep finding rotted deck boats that need stringer repair or need to go to the landfill.I can't beleive people pay thousands of dollars for a boat and don't take care of it.

Thanks in Advance

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
Re: Recommendations on new cheap boat

Best way by far to get on the water cheap is to find an aluminum hull with an outboard. Aluminum boats don't have wood stringers so you don't have to worry about them being rotted out. Even if the deck and transom are rotted, replacing them is not a huge deal. Look for a 16-18' aluminum hull with a 60-115 horsepower outboard and you'll be set for any activity you want to do. Check out the picks in my profile to see what I got for a starting price of $200 (I realize that was a screaming deal).

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

your budget just about puts you into an aluminum, 14 foot fishing boat, motor & trailer. anything bigger is going to need repairs. save some more $, a decent boat is going to be in the 3,000 up range.

Buying a boat

1st you need to decide what you want to use it for, fishing, cruising, or water sports.

2nd how many people adults, children you want on board of the average outing.

3rd outboard, inboard-outboard, or inboard power plant.

4th Budget, what you want to pay, and what you are willing to pay, when you find
Exactly what you want.

You can hire a marine surveyor, to inspect the boat, or you can do it yourself.

You are mainly looking for soft spots in the deck, transom, cracks, all signs of a rotten, under frame. You walk all over the deck, that a mallot, or hammer with wooden handle, using handle, tap all over the transom, a shape rap is good solid base, a thud, is questionable base.