im a newbie and possibly made a big mistake

I just bought a used 15 horse mercury and winterized it this winter... I ran the gas out and then later thought it might be a good idea running some stable in the engine... yep ( you guessed it ) I ran it with out water! for around 30 seconds on idle....

Now after reading all the WARNINGS about not doing this...Im wondering if i should take the motor in and have the impeller and water pump replaced( the motor was 10 years old when i purchased it) It ran like a champ all summer. I just assumed that it would be ok to run it for a real short period of time with out water, and now everything i read states thats a big no no...

So my question is...should i just take it out next spring and see if she runs ok.? Take it in and have the impeller and water pump replaced?(might not be a bad idea anyway since its a used unit) Or do you think i may have done more damage to the engine? I did rev it once or twice but then just allowed it to idle until the gas ran out of the lines.. any help would be appreciated? thanks

Last edited:

kkr26

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: im a newbie and possibly made a big mistake

Depending how used it is I would replace the impeller anyway, unless you know it has been replaced within the last year. If it has just try it in the spring and see how it does. If it was a new impeller there is a good chance it is fine.

would damage occur in less than 1 minute... or would the engine have to run longer without water? Is the waterpump and impeller and easy do it yourself job?

fishrdan

Admiral

Yes, Yes, Yes...

Chances are the impeller is scored up and needs to be replaced. But, you should change it anyway since you have no idea when it was last changed. This is one of those parts that if not changed, could become a very expensive repair.