Cruising RPMs from 7.4L

Doc_Vegas

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Greetings from Lake Mead...

I am trying to get the hang of the Maxum, and we took our first trip around the Lake. It seemed I could not get the Maxum to plane properly without having the RPMs around 4000-4200. Is that too much? The speedo was reading 30-35 MPH and it seemed to ride nice. I am just worried that running the motor at that many RPMs could be too much. I tried trimming the motor and tabs, but it did not seem to help much, but then again, I am a novice.

The motor is the 7.4L Mercury with a Bravo 3 dual-prop set up. 27' Maxum with Generator and we had six passengers at the time.

Any thoughts that will help me keep this motor healthy would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

torcano

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Cruising RPMs from 7.4L

6 people on the boat is definetly a factor. What is your WOT RPM? I suggest you start out with the trim tabs in the full bow down position to start. This will get you on plane faster. I usually go to 4000RPM to get on plane but maintain plane at between 3200-3500 RPM. However, I have twin screws. Given the size of the boat, the number of people you had on board and the single engine, I am not surprised that you needed 4000RPM to get on plane. Try the boat by yourself and see how it handles.
RK

QC

Supreme Mariner