Trying to test outbard

snookhooked

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have a 1973 mercury outboard it a 650 thunderbolt. I bought this motor what I thought was going to be parts for my 650 mercury outboard which is guessing is betweem 73 to 75 year. anyway. after getting this and finding out its a thunerbolt there is some difference between them but I really think this motor will run so now Im working on it. the thunderbot serial is 3403408 cant find any infor on it but what I would like to do try and start it and go from there but I dont have spark. since the person back out on the merc controller that was to be with the deal and I cant stretch the one on my boat to plug in but how can I get it to fire without the control being plugged in? I dont want to ge crossing something and messing up parts that already are hard to find or way out there in price. I just rebuilt the carbs and starter but now I need to get it to spark to get it up and hope atleast it will run. Im new at this so I hope that I can find the reply for this question. Thanks Steve

snookhooked

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Trying to test outbard

What Im simply trying to do is rather than swaping engines just to use the merc plug, Im trying to get the motor to fire and run where I can find out if it worth doing a swap. my other motor leak where the upper connects with the lower unit and it starts up fine and runs maybe close to half throttle then kills if you try to go to full throttle. carbs have been rebuilt. I cant get the other motor close enough to plug it in. I thought they were going to be the same but Thunderbolt are alittle diferent and I was told that it is a better motor than the normal 650 mercury. I dont have a clue to whats better but all I want right now is a motor that is working and can be used. I am going to try and do my first rebuild or atleast replace all the gaskets on one of the motors and then do the other once I am done.

snookhooked

Petty Officer 2nd Class