mercruiser 5.7 spark plug reading result

bolo78910

Chief Petty Officer
Re: mercruiser 5.7 spark plug reading result

This is a "new" motor right? Long block? Came with heads(new cam, lifters, guides, valves etc)? How many hours? Kind of funny about the EGR passage, as was previously stated shouldn't be on a marine engine. Was the intake changed?
The compression readings are a lot lower than I would expect (150-160) with a "new" engine. Are you checking the compression with a warm engine and the throttle wide open? The difference between # 8 and the other seven is not significant, but the generally low readings bother me.
Now, you said you adjusted the valves. Why? I'm a licensed auto tech and run a big car shop (wish it was marine), and providing the initial setup was done correctly valve adjustment is not normally required on a Chevy small block (same thing right?). Were you getting noise?
The correct adjustment is done with the engine off, zero valve lash plus specified number of turns ???. I don't have a Mercruiser spec, but 1/4 turn seems a little light, I would expect at least 1-1/4. Someone else in the forum can answer that.
Is the idle ok? What does a vacuum gauge show at idle and high idle? Steady at 16-18 (normal), regular downtick of 4 hg will indicate valve not opening correctly (worn cam or valve lash incorrect) or burnt valve. Rapid /vibration at higher rpm indicates weak valve springs. Fluctuating at idle but going away with higher rpm is valve guides.
Regarding the plug, I would be looking closely at a lean condition on #8. Pop the valve cover and check if the intake valve is opening. If its not could be a bent pushrod caused by improper valve adjustment or cam lobe worn off. Verify the exhaust valve as well.