Starting older motor first time in 4 years?

daustin

Cadet
Hi there,
I just got an older Ala-Craft boat with a Johnson Sea Horse 50 on it. The boat & motor are a 1975, it's not been ran in about 4 years. Before it was parked it was ran out of fuel on idle, thus it was parked dry. I'm going to install new fuel tank, bulb and lines. Change the foot oil (i was told it leaked a little a little too). Also install new spark plugs like the owners manual states.
What do i need to look out for, or do when i start it up? I'm thinking about running more oil in the mix, good idea or???? I'm new to outboards, but not new to mechanics & stuff.
Thanks for the advice.
Don

daustin

Cadet
Re: Starting older motor first time in 4 years?

Thanks,
I'm pretty sure it's not locked up, as dad took pretty good care of his stuff. He had it in a barn & covered with a cover, he passed away about a month ago and gave it to me in the will. Should be interesting as i drove it a lot in the late 70's when i was in high school. I bought an owners manual and a re-print of the factory shop manual too. Thanks again for your help.
Don

tx1961whaler

Vice Admiral

The oil-in-the cylinders-hand-crank is a good idea, since it hasn't moved for awhile, and there could be some surface rust in the cylinders and rings. If a ring is stuck and you hit it with the starter, that could be very bad.
Replacing the water pump impeller is a must, before you try to start it. They are rubber and get set to the position they were left in. It may work for awhile, but the pump will be weak, or one of the impeller legs could break off and mess up the works. Here's what I'd do:
1. Order a manual and impeller.
2. While waiting on those, clean up the boat, get a new battery, and make sure the boat lights and gear are working and complete.