12v pump for inflating towables

109jb

Lieutenant Commander
I am looking for a 12V pump for our tubes and other inflatables. I'm looking at the one in the link below and was wondering if anyone has experience withit. Our largest inflatable is a 76" diameter flat towable platform. Will this pump get the job done? Will it provide enough pressure to inflate the tube the way a towable need to be inflated??

http://www.iboats.com/Airhead_12v_Air_Pump/dm/view_id.38979

Thanks

John B

cpubud

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 12v pump for inflating towables

i have been using that same pump for 2 years now with no problems .pretty fast too.

NelsonQ

Lieutenant

John

In my experience I've had little luck with the 12V versions of pumps for inflatables (particularly the larger multi chamber towables) They usually take a long time and don't fill them up firm. (Most can't run more than 10-20 mins continuous so you'll be spending a fair bit of time inflating them with the 12V versions)

The Airhead pumps on iboats

http://www.iboats.com/Airhead_120v_...19885490--**********.240784332--view_id.38980

and

http://www.iboats.com/Airhead_Hi_Pr...19885490--**********.240784332--view_id.49225

these work better. I have the first one listed and it works great on my towable (10ft long by 7.5ft wide)

However, if you absolutely need 12V these won't work unless you then use a 12/110V power inverter to plug it into to.

Hope this helps.

NelsonQ

Lieutenant

cmc, that the first I've seen of a 12V pump like that. There may in fact be a 12V that can do large tubes. I'll take your word for it but I'd have to agree from the initial look of it.

109jb

Lieutenant Commander

Thanks guys. I was concerned about whether it would inflate a towable firm enough. CMC, that one you posted looks good. Thanks fellas

Rogue427

Petty Officer 1st Class