Digital TV Converter box - need advice

craze1cars

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Digital TV Converter box - need advice

Pierutrus, I'm not sure what gstanton said that was so incorrect to as made him an "idiot". He's absolutely correct about low power stations not being forced to go digital by any deadline. And therefore you'll still need analog capabilities if you want to continue watching those channels. Read all about it:

https://www.dtv2009.gov/lowpower/

You also said, "by the way, I do this for a living." What is "this?" I have no idea what you do for a living outside of maybe posting on iboats and rudely calling fellow boaters idiots. Quite frankly I think you were way out of line in what you wrote in your last post.

Back on track to see if I can further clarify (or confuse) others about the analog pass thru thing and these low power stations. I found the following on another site to further explain the whole A/B switch and other options:

"If you've already purchased a DTV converter that doesn't have analog pass-through (or has poor analog pass-thru), you're not completely out of luck. You still may be able to get analog signals to your TV by using an antenna switch or 2-way splitter. Use a splitter if your TV has separate audio/video inputs. Just connect the antenna feed to the splitter, and run one cable from the splitter to the RF input on the TV and another from the splitter to the digital converter's RF input. Connect the converter's A/V output to the TV's A/V input.* You can watch the analog programs by changing channels using the TV's tuner. When you want to watch a digital channel, just switch to the video input.