No power at WOT

John Lapic

Seaman
I have a 1971 Johnson 9.5. It idles fine and is smooth at slow speeds. At WOT it seems I am only at about 3/4 speed or RPM. It does not bog down, just won't open up. I ran it for several minutes at WOT, and at one point it took off, only to stall shortly after. I had trouble restarting and noted a loss of pressure in the fuel line bulb. I pumped up the fuel line with the bulb and it started fine, just no power again at WOT. Any suggestions?

Also, I am about an hour to the nearest water. Can I open up the throttle in a barrel? I have a 40 gallon drum that I can use, but have heard it is not good to run it much above idle. Something about running away. I am a novice here so any help is appreciated

ezeke

Supreme Mariner
Re: No power at WOT

If you have a large enough test tank to run the motor in forward gear, you could take the engine above the stop that should keep you from running too fast in neutral. It would be better to use a test wheel. Otherwise you should not run the motor up without a load, it can runaway and destroy the engine.

Sounds like you may be overheating. The motor needs to deep enough in your barrel to cover the waterpump, which means just about at the outer surface of the midsection. Test for overheat by placing your fingers on the cylinder head. You should be able to keep them on the head for a full three count anytime the engine is running. If you can't check the thermostat since you have already done the water pump impeller.

With the engine off, put the motor in forward and turn the tiller to WOT. Then look down the carburetor throat and see if the throttle plate is really wide open.

John Lapic

Seaman

I'll check the cylinders for overheating. You are right, I did change the impellor and am getting plenty of water out the pee hole. Is that any indication of thermostat operation?

ezeke

Supreme Mariner

The water that comes through the exhaust relief tells you that the water pump is working.