SOLVED=> New (to me) boat with oil in the bilge

momo2000

Cadet
I am new to boating and I think I have a problem I recently purchased a 1993 Lawson All American 190 (a 19? bowrider) with 4.3L V6 GM based Yamaha I/O engine. I believe this means a GM inboard and Yamaha outboard.

The previous owner told me that he had forgotten take out the freeze plugs 2 winters ago, so the block cracked and he had a local marina put in a ?First Mate? rebuild engine in it (From the warranty, item# GM262LH, S/N: 236071). This seems to be true as I have the paperwork/warranty from the marina dated 5/4/07 when the engine was replaced.

I took the boat out on a test drive, it worked just fine, so I bought it. I have had the boat out 3 times with my family and have come to the conclusion that it is leaking about 1 quart of oil in the bilge per outing.

The ski storage and bilge area were a little oily but clean when I looked at the boat before purchasing, but when asked, the answer was that that was all there from the engine replacement.

Here are the other things I notice:
-the boat runs well.
-the oil on the dipstick looks good and clean.
-there is no external oil discharge, only in the bilge area.
-oil pressure seems OK at about 70psi when running.
-water temp is OK.

SO MY QUESTIONS ARE:

#1. Any thoughts on what this is? I assume ?IF? this was leaking when sold, then the pervious owner probably knew, and it is something ?bad?. I know this is a crazy question, but any general theories given that the engine was serviced a year ago and is there any typical problems with this type/boat/brand of engine?