Wiring Diagram

default83

Recruit
HEy guys, i made this for my buddies bass boat, i just wanted some opinions and advice as far as wiring options that i have and if im doing anything wrong, this is my first time wiring a boat but have heard its good to create a diagram of it before starting, so here it is, just any advice is good Thanks Guys!

Attachments

• FUSE Model (1).pdf
    17.7 KB · Views: 0
  • FUSE Model (2).pdf
    16.8 KB · Views: 0
  • FUSE Model (3).pdf
    14.1 KB · Views: 0
  • FUSE Model (4).pdf
    10.3 KB · Views: 0

KnottyBuoyz

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Wiring Diagram

Excellent start. One suggestion that jumps out. On the third drawing move the breaker (or fuse) for the trolling motor back as close to the battery as you can. It should be ideally within 1 foot of the battery. Run the battery cables for the trolling motor up the port side to shorten them as much as possible. Find out the full current draw in Amps for the trolling motor and size your cables to carry the load. Remember when you're calculating circuit length it's to and from the load to the battery so if the trolling motor is 15' from the battery the total circuit length is 30'. Ideally you're trying to keep <3% voltage drop from battery to trolling motor.

79voltagedroptable-med_original.jpg

So from this chart if the total circuit length is 30' and the trolling motor draws 30 amps the wire size would be 4Ga. But, bigger is always better unless cost is a factor.