1987 170 HP Mercruiser...Cranks but doesn't Start

mcook5

Cadet
Hello,
I am very new to the boating world. I bought the manual for this engine, but have not taken the time to dive into yet. I wanted to get some pro advice first. I bought a 1987 Galaxy bowrider with a 170 Hp mercruiser I/O. It has been vaccum sealed and winterized for two straight years. I charged all the batteries and got the engine cranking, but I couldn't get it to turn over. The batteries started to smoke and one actually had its metal leads melt. What should be my next step, besides replacing the melted battery piece? Is it a spark plug thing or a distributor cap thing? I really appreciate anyone who can help me get my engine going for the summer time. Thanks
mcook5

mcook5

Cadet
170 HP Mercruiser I/O...it cranks but doesn't start...PLEASE HELP!

170 HP Mercruiser I/O...it cranks but doesn't start...PLEASE HELP!

Hello,
I am very new to the boating world. I bought the manual for this engine, but have not taken the time to dive into yet. I wanted to get some pro advice first. I bought a 1987 Galaxy bowrider with a 170 Hp mercruiser I/O. It has been vaccum sealed and winterized for two straight years. I charged all the batteries and got the engine cranking, but I couldn't get it to turn over. The batteries started to smoke and one actually had its metal leads melt. What should be my next step, besides replacing the melted battery piece? Is it a spark plug thing or a distributor cap thing? I really appreciate anyone who can help me get my engine going for the summer time. Thanks
mcook5

Re: 1987 170 HP Mercruiser...Cranks but doesn't Start