Tilt and Trim 150hp Mariner v6

86RajunCajun

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hello,

I have a 1986 Mastercraft rajun cajun with 150 hp mariner v6 and mariner tilt and trim.

My problem started when the fluid reservoir broke and was leaking fluid. I got the new reservoir installed and drained all the old fluid out of the unit. The fluid was pink like pepto bismal when i drained it, but not milky like it had water in it.

So i try to refill the system and now it will trim down, but will not trim up.

The motor runs both directions and i can hear a sucking sound when trimming up. If i lift the outboard while someone trims the motor up it will go up but it is hesitant. The fluid in the reservoir is full when i remove the cap it spills out.

Also when i open the manual release valve the motor sinks all the way down and i hear air and gurgling sounds frim within the system.

When i manually lift <with a lot of umph behind it!> the motor, the 2 lower trim rams stay pressed into their tube and only come out when i manually lower the motor. Its like theres a big ol bubble of air stuck inside there. When i lift the motor it is hard to lift for the first 6 or 8 inches then it gets very easy to lift to full up.

I have heard that this system is self bleeding but so far it will not bleed.

So to sum up,

Motor trims down fully and compresses trim rams
Motor will not trim up.
Motor runs both directions just fine.
The pitch of the motor sound changes but the motor doesnt go up.
The trim rams stay sunk in their housings when the motor is lifted manually.
The trim rams come out only when the motor is pushed down manually.
I filled it with 10w30 motor oil, and have drained and tried ATF as well, neither fluid works.
The T+T unit worked just fine before the reservoir cracked. Up and down with no problems.

Thanks for any help.

Nate

skynyrdcat

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Tilt and Trim 150hp Mariner v6