68 rude starflite 100hp

kgfielder

Cadet
i recently bought a boat with a 100 68 rude. the mechanic who i bought it from said it ran great for bout two years and then he started having problems with it cutting out at mid to full throttle. he believes it to be not getting enough fuel because he took the carbs apart and cleaned them and converted it back to points, and replaced distributer cap and plugs and wires. he also said it could be sucking air from tank. any incite on what the prob might be. he put a used 12v fuel pump on instead of a engine mounted diaphragm pump so the fuel lines now go strait from tank to pump to engine could this be a problem? i am new to boating soo any help would be appreciated. i replaced the fuel tank and connection.

outboarddan

Cadet
Re: 68 rude starflite 100hp

i had a motor do somethig similar it would cut out once i opened it up, but it was electrical, i disconected the tach and then it worked great, not sure if this helps

Willyclay

Captain

Welcome to iBoats Forum. Some very smart and experienced people here to help you. I have a 1968 100HP Johnson. We need to get a better idea of the "cutting out" problem at mid/high RPM. Does it reach the mid/high RPM range and then start misfiring/skipping OR is the engine bogging at WOT and never reaches the mid/high RPM range? Also, I personally would not want the 12V fuel pump on my engine for safety reasons. I lived through one incident of a bilge full of gasoline and try to warn others of the risks of a pressure fuel system versus a suction system. Good luck and be safe!

Last edited:

kgfielder

Cadet