Anyone use a transom mount TM on a 17+ foot boat?

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral
Re: Anyone use a transom mount TM on a 17+ foot boat?

I have a 17ft Specrum bass boat with a 70lb TM on the bow. Since I sometimes fish lakes that allow TMs only I also have a 55lb motor for the transom. This does 2 things for me. It gives me a little more speed but mostly I use it to get the boat back on the trailer. It is very hard to maneuver the boat with the 55, especially if there is a little wind.

rudedawg

Cadet

Hello guys, I am a newbie to the forum and also share the same delima as sidechoke. I have a '96 Bayliner Capri and want to mount a tm but there is no access under the bow for thru bolting the motor. I contacted Bayliner several times and the bracket pictured on a post for the bow is not offered as an after market part. Several dealers that were contacted stated the same so I fab'd a bracket mount and fitted it to the swim platform to mount a tm. The head of a several wireless motors I looked at is reversible so this may be the temporary solution. I realize that some boat control may be sacrificed but hey, having a tm on the back is better than none at all. We were on a state lake last year and the big motor wouldn't crank turned out to be a minor choke issue, but having tried to row the boat to the pier was the pits. We were lucky a fellow boater gave us a tow, I doubt if my wife could have held out rowing much longer-she was getting tired quick-ha~
Anyway I am going to give it a try.

sidechoke67

Petty Officer 1st Class

rudedawg, so you haven't actually tested the transom mount trolling motor yet? I'll be really curious to hear how it works out for you.

I pick my boat up in the Spring and will spend a lot of time measuring for, planning, and thinking about a bow mount trolling motor. If I really, really, can't think of a good way to install a bow mount, my guess is that it will be a tough decision between a trolling motor on the swim platform or none at all.