1974 Glastron V-179 (AQ 130C) - issues

VT_RainMan

Cadet
Hi... I'm new to the forum and boating. But, I pulled the trigger and bought a V-179 this weekend... for the grand total of $300 dollars. I have always wanted a boat but could never seem to save up for what I really wanted. But, I like fixer-upper projects and this one seemed like a gem in the rough. I'm more than excited to get her in the water this coming spring. But, I am really new to boats.

Anyway, she's relatively clean... hmmm.. well, dirty...but structurely sound. Most of the seats are intact and no cracks in them. A little tlc, some elbow grease, and some fabbing here and there is all she needs.

However the motor is the part I'm having problems with. The wiring harness was pulled out and is telling me something. I just don't know what yet. I tried to get her to start and she turns over fine but the points were toasted. I replaced those and the rotor. But, I couldn't find a condensor, cap, plug wires, and coil. So anyway, no spark to the plugs. But, while I had the key in the on position, and scratching my head, I noticed smoke coming from the cap. I pulled off the cap and the points were completely melted.

What caused that? I've never seen that happen before!!! Where should I start?

I have a clymer book coming in the mail... but, was also wondering if someone could tell me if I have an externally or internally resisted coil. If external... where is the resistor located? In the harness?

Any part #'s or crossreferences for the coil and plug wires would be greatly appreciated. Those 2 items I'm having issues finding around here.

This is a great source of information. I am sorry if these questions have been posted before. Well, any help is more than appreciated.

VT_RainMan

Cadet
Re: 1974 Glastron V-179 (AQ 130C) - issues

Well... I found a coil and I think iboats is going to supply the plug wires.