19' Bayliner 1984 Capri / Volvo Penta Motor

trucku

Cadet
Hi,

I am still a big newb.
I was looking at a 19' Bayliner 1984 Capri / Volvo Penta Motor.

I spoke to the owner and it turns out the boat was left there for over 3 years in his yard. IT was working when it was left, but the owners no longer want it and another boat they left.

He says the floors are still solid, because the boat was partially covered. The hull is supposedly very good shape with just barnacles on it. How long would it need to be sitting to accumulate barnicles?

I am thinking about heading out to look at the boat.
My question is what should I look for in a boat that has been sitting. I would love for it to be ready to float, but am scared of all the things that can be wrong.
What are my risks? Is the Volvo engine expensive to work on or get parts for?
I will attach some pics maybe you could spot something I don't see.

I will search through the forum on the interm.

Thanks in advance
Vishant
72577982_o.jpg

72578012_o.jpg

72577966_o.jpg

72577959_o.jpg

72578022_o.jpg

trucku

Cadet
Re: 19' Bayliner 1984 Capri / Volvo Penta Motor

Am I looking at leaks, a crummy engine, bad design and keep away.

Sorry I have been reading, but don't know much about a I/O motor and drive system. I would of course change the oil, plugs, wires and whatever else the engine needs. A basic start would be great.

Should I just run far away from this situation...lol

azlakes

Senior Chief Petty Officer

sure it can be resurrected. cant speak to the power plant but would think you want to lug a battery and see if it turns over. what is the ol' farmer asking for this project boat?

trucku

Cadet

He stuck her on Ebay.

He said he was willing to just get rid of it for nothing. I offered him few bucks to come get it this weekend. He never got back to me..so..LOL. I guess he wants the money more than he led on too.