Merchant Marine

I'm looking for any helpful information on how a landlocked former sailor can get qualified as an able seaman in the Merchant Marine. Just wondering the easiest way to going about getting started, costs, and finding contacts and their locations to begin the process of becoming certified. I have two years experience as a deckhand in the Coast Guard aboard a polar class icebreaker. I've sailed to both poles via the Pacific/Antarctic/Arctic Oceans and the Bering Sea/Gulf of Alaska and am aiming to work more as an able seaman on the high seas.

EastEnder

Cadet
Re: Merchant Marine

welcome! I'm a merchant mariner myself....i think i can give you more direction than that website........

The best and easiest way to get your MMD is to have someone else pay for it...its a lot of $$$ other wise. I would also think that the USCG would give u equivalent sea time so you could get a MMD....but that also depends on how recently it has been.

Another way would be to join the seafarers union....you can go through their program and get all the courses you need.....once your done you have a decent choice in where and when you work. Some folks are very anti-union which is fine...this is just anither option.

Do you want to go deep sea? When were u last at sea? I'll see if I can direct you better with the more info you give me.

zoe'sdad

Petty Officer 2nd Class

There is a big demand for all positions on oilfield service vessels in the gulf right now. Search the internet for the names of companies and call or e-mail thier human resource departments. They will tell you what is required or where you can take your certification courses.