Broken Skeg?? Force 125

Baylinercapri1987

Petty Officer 2nd Class
How can I repair a broken off skeg on a 89 Force 125? Is welding my only option? It is also leaking out of the skeg area, the skeg is completely gone.

Thanks!

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral
Re: Broken Skeg?? Force 125

I took mine off and took it to a prop shop where they put a new one on. You could never tell it had been replaced.

rudedude

Petty Officer 1st Class

Man, welding is the only way. At least to make sure it wont fall off at a later time. Pick your welder , make sure he or she has time under the arc with alum. Welding will also make you take it apart so it wont warp any inside gears and burn seals.

I am a certifed welder for 26 years and hold a 2" alum. welding cert. A lot of new welders out there, some very good but a few that only think they can. If they tell you they can mig it with wire feed RUN, tig is the best way to controll the heat so the houseing wont warp, bend or get weak around the weld site.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

Welding is the only way to go--especially since you say it is leaking near the skeg area. Nothing else has the strength. However, if you do have it welded be sure to use a reputable and very skilled and experienced aluminum welder. If not properly welded, this aluminum can become porous and/or the case can be warped out of round.

Now: If it is also leaking gear oil near the skeg, you have cracked the gearcase and possibly bent it. My recommendation is: If you need to invest more than a hundred in welding--and you will--Buy a good used complete lower unit. The reason is that those gearcases are shimmed and you need to be careful when replacing a gear pak into another case. Improper shimming will destroy the gears. It is much better for an amateur to just bolt up a whole lower unit than to replace the gear pak. Just My opinion!

Baylinercapri1987

Petty Officer 2nd Class