What have I got myself into??!!

themagicone

Cadet
Well newbie here, just found the page and thought may be someone could give me some info. Anyway - I just picked up a FREE 17' 70's larson! Has a 283 sb in it, trailer, etc. Needs some work but haul is in great shape, just some stripping and re gel coating. So the 1st question - it's a 61796 model, I can't find no record of that on the larson site. I was told it was a 73 but not for sure. 2nd, the 283, good motor for a boat or? Should I swap for a 350 sb? 3rd, on the note of re gel coating it, is that an expensive thing? 4th and last question, without seeing it (camera is broke) getting a boat like this for free, do you think I got luckly and a good deal? Thanks in advance for your answers!

gcboat

Lieutenant Commander
Re: What have I got myself into??!!

Free things are not always good deals. If they were good to start with why would someone give it away? On your model number - doesn't sound quite right to me - too many number's. Look on the back ( transom ) of your boat. On the right ( starboard ) side just below the rubrail will be a series of numbers. The last two digits will the the year of the vessel. If there are no number's there then it is a pre 1972 boat. Here is one site you might find useful:http://fiberglassics.com/default.htm
The existing 283 is a really good older engine - if it is original. Close to bulletproof actually.
To reapply gel coat is really not in your best interest - lot's o' bucks there. Try this site first:http://www.boatus.com/boattech/casey/01.htm
You will more than likely find the transom, stringer's and decking rotten or just about to be that way. Now you're talking a lot of time for repair, some serious money and some cuss words - not in that order. Poke, prod, look around for stuff. You're gonna' be surprised what you find. But having absolutely no idea about the boat, or its state of condition all of this may have no meaning what-so-ever.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner