Honda BF90 - Stumble and misfire fixed -- long

Perseo

Recruit
A forum like this is great, but one irritating thing is that people post questions and describe problems in detail and in long running threads, but then - assuming they solve the problem ? don?t post to say so and to describe the solution. I am taking the opposite tack. I never posted with my problem, but I will share the solution.

In 2005, my 1996 Honda BF90 developed an annoying engine stumble at 1300 to 1500 RPM. It ran great at other speeds, and the stumble did not preclude use of the motor.

Naturally, I looked over all systems closely, but found nothing. I am not a novice, having in my younger days built hot rod versions of Datsun engines and otherwise repaired bad running gas motor.

Going into the 1996 boating season (freshwater, summer use here in New Hampshire), I worked the problem. I studied this forum and other internet postings. A number of posts reported Hondas with engine misfires, rough running, stumbles (call it what you will) at low rpms. For BF 75s and 90s, the suspect for my precise symptoms seemed to be the low speed jets in the four (!) carburetors. A few posts suggested using Seafoam engine cleaner in copious amounts. This I tried, doggedly, throughout 2006. I wanted not to crack open the carbs if I could help it. The problem persisted.

Replacing the Low-Speed Jets.

So, in the Spring of 2007 I decided to replace the low speed jets in the carbs. First, I bought a service manual. I bought a cheap CD on ebay, but could not get it to open. I bought another cheap CD on ebay from a seller that pointed out that his competitors' products often did not work, while his did. This one also would not open, but at least provided an error message saying it needed an older version of Adobe Acrobat. Using an older computer, I managed to get it opened. So, I spent $24 and troubleshooting time just to have a service manual. Being a cheapskate can waste time.