Mercruiser 4.3 - New Boater needs help!!!

amigo

Recruit
I'm completely new to boating and need advice. I recently purchased a 1997 Starcraft (18 foot open bow) with 4.3 Mercruiser.

After a few weeks use, I discovered an oil leak. The local marina advises that the leak is coming from the timing chain cover. However, they tell me that the engine block does not appear to be a marine block. They have never seen anything like it previously, and specifically point to the fact that the oil dipstick has been moved positions, with the previous hole now being sealed with the use of a screw.

I checked with the previous owner. He tells me that the block had been replaced after it had cracked due to improper winterization. He said the work was done by a reputable dealership. I checked with the dealership and they said the block was purchased from a marine part supplier and should be marine quality. I've seen the work order and the price charged by the dealership for the short-block was $1500. My mechanic says that if it is a marine block, they've never seen anything like it and suggest having it replaced - otherwise I run the risk of having it blow and the labour involved in repairing the oil leak will be spent for nothing.

Can anybody give me advice here? Can the block actually be a marine block or is it a car block that is being passed off as a "marine" block? Would it make a difference? All of the other parts (i.e. starter, alternator, etc.) are Mercruiser.

Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated!!!!

tommays

Admiral
Re: Mercruiser 4.3 - New Boater needs help!!!

..%5Cimages%5CCRUISER%5C822454.92%5C35.gif

..%5Cimages%5CCRUISER%5C809969.98%5C21.gif

The dipstick has been done a bunch of ways as long as the oil can be sucked out to change it i dont see the issue :confused:

It is the parts that bolt on that make a block marine

Tommays

mkast

Lieutenant Commander

As far as your 4.3 goes, there is no difference between an auto block an a marine block.