3.0 Gm

cardoc672

Cadet
Hi all I have a question about the GM 3.0 marine engine. I found a good deal on an 88 bayliner with a 3.0 but the engine block is cracked. I have heard this engine block is the same as the old GM 2.5 Pontiac motor also knows as the "Iron Duke" My question is are they the same? Is it possible to use a 2.5 block? I have been an auto tech for 15 years and have repaired 100's of the ol Iron dukes so I dont think the nuts and bolts part is going to be an issue. This boat is also equiped with an omc outdrive. I have been doing some pricing and have found the marine engines seem a little pricey. I am hoping I can build one for myself if I can find the parts and save a little :)

Thanks in advance.

atomictaco

Cadet
Re: 3.0 Gm

I have this same motor as well with a cracked block. From my research the block is not the same as any block used in an automobile, it was a specialty marine block. From what I have heard the 3.0 Mercruiser block are notorious for cracking on the port side just under the deck. Mine has only penetrated the cooling jackets so I am not dealing with any water in the oil. I currently have it covered with JB weld and that has done a good job of slowing the leak. This winder I am going to actually drill the ends of the crack to prevent further cracking, v out the crack, and fill it with JB weld for a better sealing repair. Many I have spoken with have done this same repair with good success.

Not sure if this is the same problem you are experiencing, if it is there is a lot of info on the repair on the web.

cheburashka

Senior Chief Petty Officer