305, 350, and 454 Efficiency estimates (?)

Ro-Tator

Seaman Apprentice
I'm new to I/O engines, but have a lot of boating/boat rebuilding experience.
Obviously, every hull design is different when it comes to efficiency.
However, I'm trying to get a rough idea of how much fuel these three engines use when at a nice cruising speed. I also realize that different propellers go well with different hulls.

To be a little less vague, let's say the engines in question are stock, and being run in a 24 foot v-hull slickcraft.

How many miles per gallon can I expect from the 305 (with 4-bbl carb), 350, or 454? I'm talkin' real rough estimates.
*GM engines with Mercruiser outdrives, btw**

Any and all posts will be helpful. If you have a different style of boat, feel free to just say "I have X boat, X engine, and get __ efficiency."

I did a few searches, and some lurking already, btw.

Thanks, guys

Oh- Don: I'm talkin' '80s engines, to give you an idea of the vintage.

Zackman

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 305, 350, and 454 Efficiency estimates (?)

You can find information on the mercruiser website http://www.mercurymarine.com/engines/inboards/sterndrives/mpi5l_test.php

It looks like in their tests for carburated engnes they don't post fuel efficiency, but do on the MPI engines. Should give you a good feel for fuel efficiency. Select on each motor on the menu near the top of the page and then select test data.

Of course they don't have the 454, but the 496 should give you a good idea.

neikrk6

Recruit

Last weekend I ran 72 miles (GPS) on 25 gallons of fuel. 21' open bow Conquest with 5.7L, 260hp with 19" prop. 6 adults and 3 coolers. Our normal cruising speed was 25-30 mph.

Haut Medoc

Supreme Mariner

3 mpg or so.......;)

Mischief Managed

Lieutenant Commander