Coast Guard out in full force a few days ruined

freddyray21

Commander
Coast Guard was out in full force yesterday doing boat inspections. A few people's day were ruined. It is amazing how many people don't know what you have to have just to be legal on the water. Oh well, we passed with flying colors.

dirtyoldman

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Coast Guard out in full force a few days ruined

well, it's not like they make it easy to get that information.

I'm new to it too, and still finding out things.

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner

It is all available with a bit of research. I did a voluntary inspection at my dock a few weeks ago from our local authorities and passed with flying colours. Got my compliance sticker to put on the side screen and will now be left pretty much alone unless everyone out there has a sticker as well and they are looking to give out tickets. The O.P.P. doing the voluntary dockside checks are generally the ones out on patrol. They even told me that several people refused or avoided the check that day and they will most likely be the ones checked out on the water during the season. I have been approached a couple of times since and given a friendly wave as they went past after seeing my sticker.
There were no tickets being issues that day just help and advice if you did not comply. People will find out at their cost no doubt.

freddyray21

Commander

I think those who did not pass or refused inspection were visited again by the Coast Guard boat out by the no wake buoy. Funny how a Coast Guard boat out there makes everyone mindful of their wake.

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner

I think those who did not pass or refused inspection were visited again by the Coast Guard boat out by the no wake buoy. Funny how a Coast Guard boat out there makes everyone mindful of their wake.
They were left pretty much alone that day but their registration numbers were noted for future reference by the authorities.

rndn

Commander