I beached my boat...

eeboater

Commander
Well, I beached my boat for the first time last weekend... on purpose of course!! :D It was quite fun -- something I've never done before because my boat sits really low in the water. I have never been presented with an opportunity to approach a beach, that can handle my draft.

I ended up getting my St. Bernard out of the boat and into the water. Needless to say, Bernie's are designed for water in the frozen state... not the liquid!

All in all - was good fun. Now I have to find some more sandbars!

Sean

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: I beached my boat...

Sean.... lower unit + sand = possible cooling problems like pumping sand through the cooling system. :eek: I would not be so happy to find a sandbar!

SS MAYFLOAT

Admiral

A planned beaching is better than an unplanned one! Every time I go to beach, I always manage to find the rocks in the sand. I poked a hole in my ole 20'ter doing that. I always anchor out from now on. Keep in mind double E that each time you do that, your sanding off part of your finish.

rwise

Captain

mines luminum and I hit the sand bars often! nothing like a private place to go skinny di,,,,,,,I mean to stop and swim:rolleyes::D:cool:

bekosh

Lieutenant

Beach/Sandbar parties are great!:D
Just last weekend we overnighted at "Nipple Beach";) on the Wolf river. 110 mile round trip by water from Fond du lac, but great fun.
On the way up we stopped at a sand bar on Lake Poygan called "Weed Beds" and hung out for a couple of hours. Rather than beaching, you anchor in about 3ft of water and just wade around by the boats.

SSMayfloat is right. It does wear on the finish. If you plan on beaching often, consider a Keelguard to protect the hull. I'm going to add one once I get a couple of other projects done.

Attachments

• Picture403.jpg
    Picture403.jpg
    84.8 KB · Views: 0
  • Picture391.jpg
    Picture391.jpg
    52.3 KB · Views: 0

SoulWinner

Commander