How often should the impeller be replaced???

bogggar1

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I put roughly 120 hours on my motor mostly trolling every year... when do I replace it w a new one???

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner
Re: How often should the impeller be replaced???

I do mine every 2 years no matter what the hours as it deteriorates with time.

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner

The answer to this question solicits probably one of the most subjective answers of anything except what kind of oil to put in your car/truck. Everyone has an opinion, usually based upon experience, sometimes not, Or maybe just pure conjecture, just as they have a defication orfice. Grin.

We all operate under different circumstances with different equipment. What works for you won't necessarily work for me. What makes me feel good, doesn't necessarily matter to you....kind of thing.

I have been boating for 50 years and never changed an impeller annually and never removed one that had any damage to it other than having a "set" in the blades from sitting in the cramped part of the rotation cycle for too long. I never had an engine overheat due to an impeller. I never was stranded due to an impeller. Never had a blade or parts break off.

I don't change them unless I know I did something, obtained a used engine of unknown origin, or just had nothing else to do. I usually spin my engine for a few seconds if I don't run it for more than a week just to keep the rings and bearings free and to reposition the impeller.

When I was a kid, I had a 10 hp Scott Atwater, that I repeatedly ran out of the water for as long as 5 minutes (I didn't know any better). Had the engine for 10ish years and never changed the impeller and never had a problem.

Had a '72 Johnny 125 and an '89 115 Merc (both for 7 years (each at different times) and never had a temp problem and never changed the impellers.....bought both new. Son-in-law now has the Merc and hasn't changed the impeller cause it is working just fine.