Thanks for the laughs!

sdamron

Recruit
I just registered so I could tell you bunch of guys/gals that you make my day on a regular basis! These are some of the funniest stories I have ever heard. Funniest thing is...I have been boating for about 25 years, and still have some of the same accidents that you guys have immortalized yourselves with here.

In fact...Just last weekend, I was boating in north Texas, and my wife asks me to stop so she can make some sandwiches. So, of course, I did. Not in a really good place, the lake was pretty choppy, but I stopped non the less.

So, we eat our sandwiches, and decide to wind it up and get going again...every time I try to put the motor in gear, it dies, and we are bobbing toward the shore. We finally get up against the pier and some nice folks help us tie up, and I bring the motor up to see if I can see anything, and hmmm... is that the mooring line twisted around the prop?, why, yes it is. I cut it lose and we fired up and went straight back to the marina, and wrapped it up for the day. I decided if things were going to go that way, I was done for the day!!!

Just wanted to give you guys a little laugh, you have given me quite a few!

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner
Re: Thanks for the laughs!

Welcome to iboats.
Just goes to show you that no matter how experienced we may be we can turn from competent to idiot in less than a second !!!! Glad everything turned out O.K. though.

Twidget

Commander

Welcome aboard and thanks for the story.

rndn

Commander

Thanks for sharing your story.

woodrat

Ensign

I had a similar mishap with the mooring line, except we were going about 20 kts when it happened. It had been left sloppily piled up in front and as we were whipping along, it slowly slid over the side. A 20' line on a 16' boat has plenty left over to foul the prop. We came to a very sudden and surprising stop, I'll tell ya! Like tripping over your own shoelace while running flat out...

sankanother1

Petty Officer 2nd Class