OMC exhaust flappers...Part #?

Payne

Seaman
I need to replace the exhaust flappers in my 1990 OMC 4.3 HO. They melted in an overheat.

First, what are they really called? Exhaust seals? Anti-backwash flaps?

Second, what is the part number, if anyone has the parts book around?

Third, the teardown showed a cracked head on one bank, but not much of a crack. The gaskets showed a very minor difference between the affected cylinders, not the big blowout I was expecting. I had water in both banks, though. Is it possible that I fried the flappers, then shut down too fast and sloshed water into the manifolds? Then when it cooled, it drew water into the cylinders? Everything else looks ok, although I am replacing the thermostat as a precaution. And, yes, the impeller was shot. It was supposed to have been replaced last June when I had the shift cables replaced, but it doesn't look like it had been replaced to me (but I am not an expert by any means).

Thanks

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner
Re: OMC exhaust flappers...Part #?

Try here and you might find what you need. Also you may have a leaky riser gasket.

Regards,

Rick

Payne

Seaman

Thanks, that is exactly the site I need.
Is the exhaust gasket the same as the riser gasket?

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner

Well, No.

The exhaust gasket would be the same as an automotive engine gasket. (by same i mean goes in the same place)

The riser gasket is the one that goes between the riser and the exhaust manifold and keeps water from running back into the engine after you shut it down.

If you don't have a OMC service manual. Now would be a good time to get one.

Thanks, that is exactly the site I need.
Is the exhaust gasket the same as the riser gasket?

Payne

Seaman

I believe I have the big one-piece manifold rather than the two piece job used in later years.

Payne

Seaman

Or is that what I am calling the "flappers"?

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner