115 Johnson not firing ? 1984 V-4

Hey guys, I really need some wisdom, I am new to this stuff. I am not firing on the left side of the engine so I bought a set of ignition coils last week and replaced them. Checked em and everything was firing great. So I rebuilt the carburetors today and she wouldn't fire up.

So I pulled the plugs, checked for spark, and on both sides of the engine they were dead. Is it common to lose both power packs at the same time or are they connected? Also could it possibly be the stater? I check the plug from the stator to the power pack while turning over it read 12V or close to something like that. What do you all make of this.

Thanks,
Jason
Stuart, Fl.

ezeke

Supreme Mariner
Re: 115 Johnson not firing ? 1984 V-4

Sounds like you may have grounded the kill wire. Check the emergency cut off at the control. Then try disconnecting the black and yellow wire at the engine. With the black and yellow wire disconnected, you cannot turn off the engine with the switch if it starts, so be prepared.

ezeke

Supreme Mariner

Are you checking for spark with all plugs out?

No I just have the top plugs on both sides out. What should I be doing. I have two out total and with channel locks I am putting the plug against the block and turn on the motor.

ezeke

Supreme Mariner

The ignition needs to have the RPM at around 250 to 300 RPM. We usually eliminate spark as the problem by rigging something to see the spark while cranking with no load. If you get a 3/8" to 7/16" spark with no load and no plugs in, you figure that you are not turning fast enough and try a more powerful battery.

The CDI unit that they sell at iboats can be used or, you could make something out of wood and nails.

http://www.iboats.com/Cdi_Spark_Gap...54637040--list_time.1174866586--view_id.38089