help! please?

hrzracr23

Petty Officer 3rd Class
im new to boating just got this boat its a 17 foot open bow it has an evinrude 85 hp motor. I brought it home saturday night and went to bed when i went to use it sunday the motor wouldnt come down from the upright position it has the power tilt trim thing one it and the tilt would go up but not back down i tried burping air out of the hydraulic cylinder through a line that spirals from the bottom of the hydaulic cylinder to something else right behing it. the motor dropped a little but as soon as I tightened the line it stopped. we accidentally squirted all the fluid out and now I dont know what to do my questions are how do I put fluid back in the cylinder? and how do I get the tilt working it makes the noise like its pumping it just wont move thanks, josh

rickdb1boat

Supreme Mariner
Re: help! please?

Hi hrzracr23

Look on the starboard side of the motor mounting bracket. There should be a recessed hole with a screw in it. This is the manual release valve. Using a large screwdriver that fits the slot tightly, loosen this screw one full turn(Do not try to remove the screw). This should allow you to manually raise the lower unit. Once up, tighten the screw back up. Then on the back of the fluid resevoir, there will be a fill screw. Remove the screw and fill with tilt and trim fluid until it comes out the hole. Put the screw back in hand tight and lower and raise the lower unit several times. Recheck the fluid and repeat...Knowing the motors year would help, but this is the general idea....

hrzracr23

Petty Officer 3rd Class