'95 Bayliner Capri - Stiff Steering

oly

Cadet
I know this subject has been discussed in the past, but I was looking for some insight into<br />the normal amount of effort required to steer a rack/cable based system. I'm new to boating<br />and it seems like it is just way too hard to steer my boat. I've tried cleaning and greasing the steering rod at the motor (120HP Force if that matters) as well as the grease points where it seems like it would influence steering effort. No effect. I understand the impact of the exhaust snout fin and how the resultant torque will pull the boat one way or another. My problem seems mechanical - it is really hard to steer when the boat is on the lift. A couple of questions:<br /><br />1. How do I grease the cable at the steering wheel end? Do I need to disassemble the rack to do this? Will this even help?<br /><br />2. Is this just how much effort it takes to steer (wife has to use all of her force to turn) or should one be able to steer comfortably with one hand?<br /><br />3. Will installing a hydraulic system (like those offered by SeaStar) help or do I have some other problem that isn't being addressed?<br /><br />It hasn't been a show-stopper type problem yet, but I sure would like to know if there is a way to improve the situation (I'm so jeoulous of all the other guys who can steer one handed
smile.gif
)

sony2001

Chief Petty Officer
Re: '95 Bayliner Capri - Stiff Steering

oly did you find a steering friction between the steering wheel and the rack and pinion? It's a knob that you turn with your thumb.

oly

Cadet

sony - <br /><br />I didn't find any such knob. Would I need to remove the steering wheel to find it? I just looked behind the dashboard (if thats what they call it on a boat).

sony2001

Chief Petty Officer