Anybody use a pintle hitch?

Davy8or

Cadet
Both my trailers have 2" ball hitches and I can say I have little love for them. I worked in the movie business for 25 years and drove trucks a towed generator plants. The movie industry only uses pintle hitches and I can say they are SO much easier to deal with. Reliable, strong and simple. On and off easy peasy. I have more than once threatened to convert both my boat trailers to this system.

I'm wondering if there are any of you that have done this and if there are any downsides. The only one I can think of is the pintle system is a sloppier fit than the ball, so there is play back and forth when stopping and starting. Still I occasionally used to tow 9000 lb generator plants with a 4x4 pickup and it was tolerable. What do you all think?

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
No, I never have and I have worked in the RV business since I retired from the military in 2006, they were designed for a certain type of load that is not really susceptible to vibration damage, boats and RV can be damaged because the slop in the pintle hook up.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
most boats have surge brakes.

surge brake heads dont fit pintle hitches

I always hated pintle hitches personally. all that slopping and banging just aggravates me.

alldodge

Staff member
I like pintle's but there is a bit of noise associated, just that slight bit of slop. Would have no issue using on a trailer with electric brakes.

ahicks

Captain
With the loads most of us are handling, failing to see any advantage a pintle style coupler might have over a conventional coupler. A drop of oil here and there every couple of seasons, and some familiarity, can make a conventional coupler the simplest way to get things done reliably.

alldodge

Staff member
If you have never had a real heavy boat, or used a pintle hitch, then you don't know that its easy the pintle is to to get connected over the ball.