Ballastic 15 pitch vs. PowerTech 16 pitch - Honda BF45

Jarle

Cadet
Have someone an idea how the Ballistics 10-1/8 x 15 is compared to Powertech Semicleaver SST 10-1/8 x 16?

I have a Honda BF45 and with the original propeller, and I reach to 6500 rpm. (3 blade 11 1/4 * 13)

I have also tried a Ballistic prop with 10 1/8 * 13 with bad luck (6800-6900 rpm). The shop who sells Ballistics say that the 10 1/8 * 15 also will be to light. They say that rpm only drops about 200-250 rpm if I buy the prop with 15 pitch…??

I have just now got a good price on a Powertech propeller....

Last edited:

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
Re: Ballastic 15 pitch vs. PowerTech 16 pitch - Honda BF45

I am not a prop expert and have limited experience with the Ballistic prop.

I currently own 3 in the 13-14" diameter arena pitched 17", 21, and 24XP.

My experience with this prop, on a light fast boat is that it surprises you with it's performance as for me it is extremely efficient....what does that mean? More mph for a given rig at a given rpm.

Case in point (I know you old salts are tired of hearing this):

Bought this boat. Had a 17P. First time hole shot almost gave me whiplash and rpm's went out of sight. Went to the www and used the BAM calculator trying to get from where I was (rpm's ) to where I wanted to (needed to) be.

Answer came out that the 21P would be just right...bought it, installed it, tested it...wrong.... Now I just went up 4" in pitch....a whopping big change for tweaking props.

Went back and tried the calc with the new data and the 24XP (extra performance) seemed to fit the criteria.....now we are up another 3" for a total of 7" increase.

Now the rpm's are just above the upper limit and the speed is great for what I'm running.

In doing some other testing I bought a Hustler high performance alum which contains most of the amenities of high perf SS props (except blade thickness for one.......Ballistic flaunts their thin blades). I got it in 23" pitch.