1985 Force 125 prop choices

Troncd

Cadet
Hello all!

im new to the boating world. While growing up my dad has a Bayliner runnabout that we used all the time but I’ve never owned a boat of my own until recently.

I jist bought an old 1973 winner Trihull 18’. It’s a pretty awesome boat in my opinion. I’ve been digging old crap as of late😂. I’ve taken it out twice so far. It floats and moves along under the power of the 125 force motor at about 30 mph. My whole family together probably weighs in about 650 pounds or so. From what I’m reading 30 mph is probably on the low end or normal speed for a bout of this general style, weight etc. sound about right?

the prop is a 13x19. I know cause on my first ride out I destroyed it! Found a replacement of the same size and pitch before I began reading about fine tuning a boat with prop selections. Should the 13x19 service me well for general boat/tube/family fun? I need to get a tach, I don’t believe I’m running at 5500 rpm at wot.

Looking forward to learning from you guys!

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Do you know what the WOT range for that engine is? It might be 5000 - 5500, or it might be 4250 - 5250
Gear Ratio is 15:26. Based on the gearing I would say a 19 is too much prop for an 18' boat. With that gearing, 5500 rpm with a 19 inch would put you around 50mph.

Regarding the boat, is the hull clean, straight with no Hook or Rocker? You never mentioned the weight of the boat and motor. What about the floatation foam being saturated with water? Water weighs about 8 lbs/US gallon.
When you calculated load, did you account for the weight of the battery, fuel and tank.

Troncd

Cadet
Not sure if the weight of the boat. And the weight I noted above was just my family. Does not include the 10 or so gallons of gas, battery, etc. the hull is in good shape. Everything seems solid and dry below the floor but access to view is minimal.