Right prop

utfyrfytr

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am running a 17' 1968 aluminum Crestliner deep V that I have been working on for a couple of years and have it where I can get it out and do some fishing. The motor is an 89 2 stroke 100 hp Mariner with a 13.25 X 17 prop (3 blade aluminum). It will currently run out at 30-32 mph at 4600 rpm. Question is do I need to try and come closer to the max recommended rpm at WOT? I would like to gain a little speed if possible. If a change needs to be made what are some suggestions? I'm pretty new to boating and appreciate all of the help.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Maybe try a 15P, will bring the rpm up a little, take some of the pressure off the engine, and maybe get you an extra 2-3 mph.

I know it seems like you should get a lot more speed out of that boat, but probably won't get over 35 unless you really up the hp, or lose 500# of weight.

Good luck, ;et us know what you do, and how it works out.

utfyrfytr

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Roscoe, Thanks for the reply. I happen to have a 13.25 X 15 prop that I was thinking about trying. I'll give it a try next week when I get out again and then get back with you and let you know what happens. Thanks again

I had the opposite issue where my rpms were too high so I propped up so ide have more bite l. Switched from a 15p to a 19p my rpms returned to an acceptable range with no noticable change to mph maybe 1-2 mph max. Propping down will give you better hole shot and allow you to plane faster but I highly doubt it will increase your top end. Regardless I think the change is worth it.

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner
Propping an engine right to rev higher towards full wot rpm range factory stated usually reduces top end speed. A matter to check which modality suits your boating needs best : Top hole shot or slight more top end speed, but can't have both worlds in just one prop, as one modality opposes the other.

Happy Boating

WesNewell

Chief Petty Officer