Tapered Pontoon stern

RadioDave

Seaman Apprentice
I am new to pontoons, and learning.
Something I notice is there is a large amount of wake left behind, as the toons are blunt in the rear.
Has anyone considered of seen a toon with a tapered tail.
As inefficient as toons are for moving through the water, I would think it would inprove the laminar flow of the toon, and increase efficiency, speed.
Any thoughts?

ahicks

Captain
If you look at some of the older 'toons, you may see some that are tapered. ALL of the newer 'toons, ones I've seen anyway, are flat or nearly flat.

As far as efficient, you see no attempt on the part of power boat manf's to do anything to taper the back. There, 90 degree (+-) sharp exits are the norm.

The only attempt I've seen at anything close to "laminar" might be with sailboat design, on hulls run at displacement speeds.

HotTommy

Lieutenant Junior Grade
RadioDave,
I suspect the taper on the boat in your image has more to do with allowing the propeller to access water than with reducing drag. It's been almost 50 years since I got my degree in Aero Engineering so my recollections may not be perfect. But I think there are some fundamental differences in the way compressible fluids like air flow, and the way incompressible fluids like water flow. I'm not sure that water reacts to an abrupt rear surface like air does. In any case I suspect boat builders would offer the tapered rear you suggest if they could show a performance gain that would justify a higher price. It appears that lifting strakes offer a more consistent performance gain.

ahicks

Captain
Regarding the design of the boat in the drawing, methinks it might be designed for speeds well in excess of what we might even dream of when considering pontoon boat design.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
A pontoon boat is a displacement hull..... Your governed by the physics of a displacement hull

Scott Danforth

Staff member