volvo penta shift problem

tim10034

Seaman
i have just purchased a 1996 four winns with a volvo 5.4 GI with a dp sterndrive....when i shift from forward and reverse to neutral i feel a bind right before it gets to nuetral...sometime it will stay in forward gear when i'm in neutral and i have to push the control to the reverse side of neutral or vice versa with being in gear in reverse(if that made sense?)...i have tried disconneting the shift cable from the shift and it moves freely when i shift forward or reverse. I am really new to inboards outboards...so please help.. Would it be changing the lower unit gear oil fix this????/

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner
Re: volvo penta shift problem

hello<br /> dude insomnia bites :) <br /> anyway the 3 most common causes of shift problems with volvo are misadgusted or worn cable, make sure all attaching points are ok. the drive unit may be overfilled or wrong oil. over filling usually causes a delay in shift engagement and sometimes the trhottle is being applied while the cone is engaginging thus tossing the upper bearing/shaft through the top cover. or sometimes the shift cam needs to be reshimmed. especially if the untrained has been playing with it. and in a few cases I have actually seen the ramps on the cast iron shift cover assy worn off. if you attempt a reshim yourself read and understand how the shift mechanism works before any shim attempt is made or you will find out how much cones and shift shoes cost.the V in the center of the cone is not concentric with the OD but is a cam that when the shift shoe is moved towards a nuetral position it actually bumps the cone. not enough shim and it crushs the shoe and cone assy. to much shim and it wont shift. you must verify the cone type(needox,steel,brass etc etc) before shimming as they take different procedures.<br /> good luck and keep posting

seahorse5

Rear Admiral