Best way to mount a kicker motor?

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
Most of the boats I have had over the years, I have had an electric trolling motor, but I how have a 16 foot Starcraft SS and I am thinking about mounting my 9.8 Mercury on it for trolling, I have no experience in mounting a second motor on the back of a boat, is a bracket the best way to go? Most of the brackets look like they allow you to lift the kicker up when you are not using it. The Mercury is a tiller steer, so I would imagine you just sit on the edge of the splash well and use the tiller to steer is as I am not interested in converting it over with any controls.

So is a bracket the best way to do this?

Thanks.

82rude

Rear Admiral
What size is the main motor?I would imagine a bracket is the most common way to mount a kicker.Now with that being said I have a ss160 also with a 60 etec and I simply mount my 6 hp Johnson 2 stroke beside it on the transom.

30364919588_1bddf439fa_c.jpg
30364919588_ebee7e64d1_k.jpg

Last edited:

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
Thank you,

I see you have it just mounted to the transom, with no bracket, which I was hoping to do, I would like to do this with the least amount of drama in my life as possible. I don't see any bolts on your kicker, you just used the clamps to put it on?

Again, thanks, you pictures answer a good amount of questions I had.

82rude

Rear Admiral
Yes I just clamped it on and when I use it I use the main motor as a rudder so I steer from the seat not the back.

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
The best way is to mount it directly on the transom. Second best is a fixed bracket if there is no room on the transom or its an I/O. Third best is a retractable bracket.

I ALWAYS bolt the kicker on as well, with a SS bolt and wing nut. If the motor doesn't have mounting holes, I drill a couple, or simply use a u-bolt in an appropriate place.

Its all easy peasy.

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
By the way the main right now is a 50 and I am hoping to put a 75 on it very soon.