Top Cowl Seal OBSOLETE?? - Merc 25hp

Status
Not open for further replies.

MercS5

Cadet
I'm doing some repairs and routine maintenance with my 1996 Mercury 2 stroke 25 hp outboard serial number 0G329980
It started with replacing some seals and o-rings because I had oil dripping from the lower unit and prop. Then I thought while I was in there replace the water pump. And from there spark plugs, wires, fuel filter, the list goes on.

It's my first time doing this maintenance and would like to know something. When replacing the water pump do you just replace the rubber impeller or the whole assembly? I asked my local shop and they said just replace the rubber impeller but I would think once you take it apart it is a good idea to get new gaskets too. Suggestions? Also, anyone ever replaced the o-rings and seals on the gear housing assembly for the prop shaft? I was told not to try it myself and I would need special tools and pay a shop a couple hundred instead of paying under $50 for the parts to do myself.

But most importantly, I am in need of the top cowl seal because it is damaged and missing a section. The top cowl won't seal tight to the bottom and rattles when running and frequently falls off. I can't find this seal anywhere. Anybody with the same motor or have similar issues with parts unavailable? There has to be a compatible seal out there in the world if not the same model. Anybody have a suggestion of what else I could use to seal it tight? The part number is 17773A2 and Mercury website says it is obsolete. I have called at least 9 different Marinas/Shops across the country and nobody has them. The only solution I have been given is buy the whole hood for $200 instead of trying to find the $30 seal. The motor runs without it but I really want that seal so I can quit worrying about it.

I can post a picture of the cross section if it helps.

MercS5

Cadet
Re: Top Cowl Seal OBSOLETE?? - Merc 25hp