1985 115hp mariner wont fire on any cylinder

jpem2010

Cadet
Hy i have a 1986 model 115 stack 6 mariner that has just stoped firing on all cylinders. It has been running fine and cranking fine every time untill the other day. I usealy crank it once a week and let it run but sunday it wouldnt hit a lick and hasnt since. Ive checked the kill switch and unplugged the main harness to see if i had wiring isues in the boat but no luck. I could realy use some addvise as what to check for next. It seems like maybe the coils might be grounded out idk what wires to check that theory out. Any help would be greatly apritiated .. Thanks

jpem2010

Cadet
Re: 1985 115hp mariner wont fire on any cylinder

What is the black and yellow wires for on the power packs are they the grounding wires to kill the power to the coils. Ive been reading other postings trying to figure out my problem im new to this ive never owned or worked on a mercury.. Lol luv the evinrudes

ajgraz

Lieutenant Commander

Black/yellow wires at the powerpack(s) (aka switchboxes) are kill wires. If they have a path to ground, the voltage created by the stator will go to ground instead of being routed through the switchboxes to the coils.

If those kill wires are NOT grounded out and it is getting no spark at any cylinder (have you actually checked for spark at the plugs?) then I would suspect a bad stator (or bad wiring from the stator), particularly the low speed windings. Do you have an ohmmeter...and just as importantly, a DVA adapter?

CharlieB

Vice Admiral

Remember there is NO RETURN on electrical parts so do NOT assume that the stator is bad without PROVING the fault.

CDIElectronics has an excellent and FREE, Ignition Troubleshooting Guide that covers all year and all outboard models.

It is posted in one of the 'Stickies', sorry I don't have that link handy.