Motor rewire

aburke120

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have purchased a 1990 sea nymph ss195 with a non running 1975 850 mercury outboard, sn 429,xxx the motor will turn over, but
does not fire. Removing the cowl, I found a rats nest of repairs done to almost every wire I could see, splices, solder joints
plastic tape, broken wires, I'll put a pic at the end. The plug has broken wires also. I'm not afraid to tackle something like
this I worked as an electrician for 40 years in an iron foundry, and what I found wasn't anything I hadn't seen before. there's
only 7 wires on the plug, 2 being positive and negative from the battery, the rest need to be found on a print.
I don't know a lot about outboard motors, but I'm going to give it a try. I may have jumpers where they shouldn't be but
I should be able to make this motor run, as long as some of the parts aren't bad.
Parts on the motor are a challenge also, I'm looking for a "choke solenoid" I'm thinking it's up towards the top of the motor
and has a small metal cable coming out of the bottom. supposed to have a grey wire on it, but all the wires are black. I will
continue this as I find and learn about outboard motor wiring. Later..........................Al

Attachments

• photo301913.jpg
    photo301913.jpg
    127.9 KB · Views: 1
  • photo301914.jpg
    photo301914.jpg
    119.5 KB · Views: 1

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Wiring diagram is found at maxrules web site. A 1975 850 should have 1 coil and battery powered CDI ignition. A 1976 850 will have 4 coils and ADI ignition.

You can order a new engine wiring harness off the web. Look for a good price.

aburke120

Petty Officer 2nd Class
what type and size wire is used on a new engine wiring harness

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Ideally wire should be marine grade (tinned and fine strand). Most of the wires would be 12 or 14 AWG, I would expect.

Faztbullet

Supreme Mariner