Mercruiser 5.7 rust in cylinder bore

Julz1

Recruit
Hi,
I'm new to to this forum and I am new to engine repair... I have done basic services but have never done anything to this extent. Im working on a mercruiser 5.7 fuel injected from a 2001 calabria ski boat. The boat was submerged with rain water because he unfortunately left the plug in. It was frozen until I soaked it with a 50/50 mix of atf and acetone mix. It broke free after removing the heads and hitting the pistons with a piece of wood and hammer. Eventually through time and hitting the piston and putting a pry bar on the fly wheel it moved. It moves pretty freely now however there are a few bores have rust pitting and buildup on the bore wall. Any information on what I should do would be great. Im trying to keep the budget low so hopefully I don't have to strip down the motor and rebuild it.

Thanks ahead of time.

Here is a link to see the pictures of the bore..

https://julz1.imgbb.com

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
welcome aboard

from you description alone, you either need to rebuild or get a different motor (I wont click on your links - I generally dont click on links)

any pitting is bad, any time you need to beat on the pistons to get them to move is bad

if you would have caught the motor maybe a day or two after it was submerged....

you also need to replace the rotating electrics on the motor and the steering cable and most anything that was under water including wiring harnesses, etc.

Also suggest you weigh the boat. if water got that high in the bilge, guarantee there is water in places that it should not have been. and its going to take lots of work to get it out.......and depending on how long the water was in contact with the foam, you may need to re-foam.

Bondo

Staff member
Im trying to keep the budget low so hopefully I don't have to strip down the motor and rebuild it.