1982 15hp exhaust restrictor plug baffle

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gazman67

Cadet
I have a J15RCNC.

Service manual calls for part number 325334 restrictor plug in the big hole in center of pic.1-IMG_3426.JPG

States, "loss of power if not installed". This part is no longer available.
1-IMG_3429.JPG1-IMG_3430.JPG

Can I make one? Does it completely occlude the large hole or sit proud one side or the other allowing "some" exhaust flow around it? Increased back pressure I presume and it's only called for on 15hp, not the 9.9.

Anyone have experience with this?

I'm new to outboards. Rebuilt this after finally troubleshooting a loose reed stop. It allowed the reed to get "nibbled" on, taking out top cylinder from firing.

Thanks
Chris

Last edited:

kodibass

Master Chief Petty Officer
I'l look I have several older junked 15 hp, see whats in there heck I never noticed before got me curious now too.

Gazman67

Cadet
Thanks.

Put her together without anything in the hole.

Fired up nice. Still would like to know if this makes a difference on the 15hp.

Chinewalker

Fleet Admiral
I've worked on a lot of those 9.9/15 models and never noticed anything in that spot.

Gazman67

Cadet
Good to know. Thanks.

Maybe this was unique to the 1982 as this was early in the change to tuned/round exhaust.

Don't know if later years had same hole configuration or was filled in or machined differently.

Maybe it was a solution to use up 9.9 exhaust housings. I'll have to look for exhaust housing pics of 15hp manufactured in later years.

Last edited:

pilot1950

Recruit